Tags

, , , ,

For as long as I’ve been able to read (and even way before that) I have been a die-hard and unconditional supporter of Toriyama-san’s work. Pop culture icon and manga legend Akira Toriyama, famously known for his ground-breaking and profoundly influential manga Dragon Ball, is the only artist to ever make me want to buy each and every single work he has ever produced. Hell I bought Tobal N°1 for the PlayStation… and I don’t even own a PlayStation!

While most people will probably know Akira Toriyama for his seminal manga Dragon Ball, I for one admire his entire highly illustrious and exceptional career as a storyteller. People talk of minor and major Akira Toriyama works… bitch have you read Sandland? Kajika? How on earth can those manga be considered ”minor” works? That shit is exquisite! Shōnen manga gold. Jaco the Galactic Patrolman is no different.

Sent to Earth to prevent an imminent alien force to wreak havoc on our planet Jaco a… ahm galactic patrolman crashes on an abandoned island only inhabited by Omori an old, bitter scientist  trying to live his life in peace away from all of mankind. Little did he know that the arrival of this most colorful member of an alien police force would change his life forever.

When I received my copy of Jaco the Galactic Patrolman in the mail I felt overtaken by a bittersweet feeling I just could not shake off. I was obviously thrilled to be finally able to read a new manga by my childhood hero and still I felt anxious and sad at the same time because after all this is supposedly Akira Toriyama’s last manga and after Jaco the Galactic Patrolman… well after this it’s done. Finito. Needless to say that my expectations were high. Exceedingly high.

Jaco the Galactic Patrolman is your typical Toriyama manga. It has all the key elements that made all his other manga so memorable and succesful. It is less action-oriented than some of his more famous manga like Kajika, Sandland and of course Dragon Ball, his unmistakable and instantly recognisable sense of humour however is omnipresent. Akira Toriyama’s extremely childish and over-the-top humour still makes me giggle to this day.

Yeah sure this is no Dragon Ball, but nevertheless Jaco the Galactic Patrolman is an incredibly fun read in its own right. Yes I know, I probably came over like a total Toriyama groupie but in all honesty this is the kind of book I see myself giving to my kids should I ever get any. This is a fucking satisfying good read that will please long-time Akira Toriyama fans like myself. I only wish I had not known about the connection this manga has with Dragon Ball months before I even had the chance to buy it… damn you internet, damn you!!!! Even so I had goosebumps reading the last few pages of this highly enjoyable little book. Akira Toriyama is unrivalled.

-Paulo Costa-

